RSS

Cleared Oracle Certified Associate (OCA) in Oracle Database Adminsitration :)

18 Jul

Yes you got it right I am now Oracle Certified Associate in Oracle Database Administration🙂

I cleared it today. What was more satisfying was the effort I had put in, having worked all these years as Oracle Developer it was never going to be easy to appear for an Oracle Administration. But I persisted with my interest and gave spirited effort.
The material I used to prepare for the prepration was a big boost. I had referred Study Guide from BPB publications for “Oracle 10g Administration I (OCA)”, Its claimed to be the #1 Best-Sellers. Beside this I had used the material from the DUCAT (Coaching Institute), from where I had undergone an initial training for this course.
My experience of appearing for Oracle Certified Associate in Oracle Developer Track was handy. I had last time appeared for the exam for Oracle in 2007 but that was in Mumbai.

I knew the exam pattern and mentally prepared for it. I started my day waking up early by 6.00 a.m,. 2 hours before my normal wake up time and just gave a glance to the study materials and sample questions. I had done one round of revision by the time it was 8:30 a.m. It was an off day for me and that helped🙂

I left home for the centre by 10:40 a.m. and reached the venue by 12:30 p.m. Normally by own conveyance it would not take that much time. I preferred public conveyance over own conveyance, so that I would get chance of one more round of revision🙂 and it helped a lot Trust me!!

At the Exam Centre

The center was fully airconditioned, always a relief in the scorching Indian summer. Without wasting any time I got myself registered for the exam. Prometric centres offers you to register for any exam and appear for the same on the spot. I filled up the registration forms and provided with the identity proofs. After filling up the forms I was asked to keep all my belongings in safe locker and step in the exam hall. The exam co-ordinator was very cordial and wished me good luck!!

Now about the exam paper

Unlike developer paper, 1Z0-042 is a 84 questions paper with 2 hours duration, pass mark being 68%. I patiently yet speedily started marking the questions.

I finished answering the questions with 50 minutes to spare, which I spent in re-checking and verifying the options which I had marked for review.

The Result

With bated breath I clicked on submit and eagerly waited for the result to process. When I saw the result as pass I thanked heavens and my faculty at Ducat. It was really a pleasant experience since I was planning for it since last 18 months now when it turned out into reality it was wonderful feeling.

Now I am double certified with OCA in Developer and OCA in DBA. A rare combination for the person with my experience level.

Soon I am planning to upgrade the certification to OCP. Lets hope for the best!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 18 July, 2009 in Oracle

 

Leave a Reply

 
